Skip to content

When you choose to publish with PLOS, your research makes an impact. Make your work accessible to all, without restrictions, and accelerate scientific discovery with options like preprints and published peer review that make your work more Open.

PLOS BLOGS The Official PLOS Blog

PLoS Genetics editors elected to the National Academy of Sciences

PLoS Genetics wishes to congratulate its Associate Editors Jim Haber and Trudy Mackay on their recent election to the National Academy of Sciences, in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Jim Haber is a founding member of the PLoS Genetics editorial board and also serves as an Academic Editor for PLoS Biology. He is the Abraham and Etta Goodman Chair of Biology and the director of the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center at Brandeis University, Massachusetts. Jim has been studying DNA repair and genome instability for more than 30 years. His lab is especially interested in analyzing multiple mechanisms of repair of double-strand chromosome breaks by monitoring in real time the molecular events occurring in live cells. About his election to the NAS he said, “I am thrilled to be associated with so many great scientists whose work I so greatly admire.”

Trudy Mackay, also a founding member of the PLoS Genetics editorial board, studies the genetic and environmental basis of variation for quantitative (complex) traits. She is the William Neal Reynolds Distinguished University Professor of Genetics and of Entomology at North Carolina State University, and alongside her role as associate editor of PLoS Genetics Trudy is also the Editor-in-Chief of Genetics Research. Her lab is interested in understanding the molecular genetic basis of naturally occurring variation for a wide range of morphological, behavioral, physiological and life history traits in Drosophila, and deriving causal genetic networks affecting variation of these traits in multiple environments. About her election to the NAS she said “I am delighted and greatly honored to be elected to this august group”.

Back to top