Skip to content

When you choose to publish with PLOS, your research makes an impact. Make your work accessible to all, without restrictions, and accelerate scientific discovery with options like preprints and published peer review that make your work more Open.

PLOS BLOGS The Official PLOS Blog

2010 Annual Molecular Parasitology Meeting presentation winners announced

As mentioned previously on the blog, PLoS Pathogens was well-represented at the 2010 Annual Molecular Parasitology Meeting at Woods Hole.  This meeting, which encompasses many fields relating to parasite molecular biology, was held from September 12-16th.

For the third consecutive year, the journal sponsored prizes for outstanding presentations by trainees.  Winners were chosen based on the votes of judges and attendees.  We’re pleased to see that one of the awardees, Dr. Christine Lehmann, has published with the journal.

We would like to recognize the exciting work of the four award recipients, listed below.  Thanks to all who participated, and congratulations to the winners!

Romanico B. G. Arrighi (Swedish Institute for Infectious Disease Control) – Identification of host genes involved in Toxoplasma-induced dendritic cell hyper-motility

Christine Lehmann (Bernhard Nocht Insitute for Tropical Medicine) – Cathepsin B-like cysteine proteases induce host cell death upon PVM breakdown in Plasmodium berghei infection of liver cells

David T. Riglar (Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research) – Stepwise dissection of erythrocyte invasion by the Plasmodium falciparum merozoite

Wai-Hong Tham (Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research) – Malaria parasites hijack complement regulatory protein for invasion into erythrocytes

Back to top